Joan Prior Award

Wellington Folk Festival is again hosting the Joan Prior Young Performers Award.

Acoustic Routes (The Wellington Folk Centre) has been running the award since 2014.

After a year’s gap, the award has been revised, following a review and consultation process, to make it less competitive and more encompassing as an encouragement to young performers. 

Under the new format, applicants will no longer compete for a single prize by performing in front of judges at a Wellington Folk Festival concert. Instead, up to seven applicants will be offered full weekend passes to the Festival. They will feature in a Young Performers concert at Wellyfest.

To find out more about the Joan Prior Award and how to enter, follow this link: